Free ESL Classes for San Diego County, CA

 

Home

Learn English

Volunteer to
Teach English

Locations

About Us

 

Here is a map of all our free teaching locations:  CLICK FOR MAP

 

We offer free ESL English classes at each of these locations below.

Be sure to contact the person named below to confirm the days and times for classes, and to find out if space is available.

Click on the street address to see the location on a map.

 

Alpine

 

AL1. Alpine County Library, 1752 Alpine Blvd.

Mary Harris: prefers text to 619-490-9386; otherwise email to ranchogirlalpine@gmail.com; 1-on-1 and small group tutoring at various times

 

Bonita

 

BON1. Bonita-Sunnyside Branch Library, 4375 Bonita Road

Thursdays 10:00 am-Noon

 

Borrego Springs

 

BOR1. Borrego Springs Literacy Center

Elaine McVey (elainemcvey1@gmail.com); Tutoring at various locations and times

 

Carlsbad

 

CAR1. Carlsbad Literacy Center, Pilgrim United Church of Christ, 2020 Chestnut Avenue

Joan Grover (joangrover7121@gmail.com); Tuesdays 7:00-9:00 pm and Thursdays 9:00-11:00 am

 

Chula Vista

 

CV1. Chula Vista Literacy Center, Community Congregational Church, 276 “F” Street

Erika Dennis (ehdennis4@cox.net), Sue MacDonald (runsusie@sbcglobal.net); Mondays 7:00-9:00 pm

 

El Cajon

 

EC1. El Cajon Library, 201 E Douglas Avenue

Charlie Barrett (cbarrett1410@yahoo.com); Fridays at 10:00 am and 1:00 pm; Other English and citizenship classes on Saturdays

 

EC2. EMASS - Union of Pan Asian Communities, Elder Multicultural Access & Support Services, 343 East Main Street

Salwa Yalda (syalda@upacsd.com); Wednesdays and Fridays 10:00 am-12:00 noon

 

Encinitas

 

EN1. San Dieguito Literacy Center

San Dieguito Methodist Church

170 Calle Magdalena

Laurie Martin (L.A.Martin@roadrunner.com)

Mondays 7:00-9:00 pm and Tuesdays 9:00-11:00 am

1-on-1 and small group classes for all levels

 

EN2. Encinitas Literacy Center, Encinitas Library, 540 Cornish Drive

Jennifer Quilkey (jquilkey@me.com), Susan McClain (swmcclain@gmail.com)
M/onWed/Fri 10:30-12 (Beginning); Tue/Thur/Fri 9:30-11:30 (Low-Intermediate); Tuesdays 4-6 (Low-Intermediate); Thur/Fri 9:30-11:30 (Beginning); Thursdays 5-6 (Intermediate); Thursdays 6-730 (English Cafe “News for You" offered through SDCL)

Walt Wrobleski tutors his class in ESL at Encinitas Literacy Center.

 

Fallbrook

 

F1. Fallbrook Library, 124 South Mission Road

Lana Smith (lamariesmith@gmail.com); Classes Mondays and Thursdays between 10:00 am and 3:00 pm; Tuesdays 6:30-8:00 pm; Wednesdays 11:00 am-1:00 pm and 1:30-3:00 pm

Fallbrook Library tutors: Lana Smith (left), Joan Coapman,
Sandy Cooper, Rusty Anderson, and Margie Mosavi

 

F2. Fallbrook Literacy Center, Christ the King Lutheran Church, 1620 S. Stage Coach Lane

Mondays 7:00-8:30 pm (Sept-June); 1-on-1 tutoring available; Supervised learning with Rosetta Stone® language software available; Pat Hensley (pmph36@gmail.com)

 

La Jolla

 

LJ1. La Jolla English Language Center, La Jolla Presbyterian Church, 7715 Draper Avenue

Marc Angel (marclangel@aol.com); Tuesdays 7:00-8:30 pm

 

Lemon Grove

 

LG1. Lemon Grove Branch Library, 3001 School Lane

Julie Rone (julie_rone@sbcglobal.net); Beginner: Mondays and Wednesdays 10:30 am-Noon and  4:00-5:00 pm; Low Intermediate:  Tuesdays and Wednesdays  2:00-4:00 pm; High intermediate: Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:00 am-Noon

 

Linda Vista

 

LV1. ACCESS, Inc., 2612 Daniel Avenue, San Diego

Julieta Gonzales (julieta.gon14@gmail.com); Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00-8:00 pm

 

LV2. Bayside Literacy Center, Linda Vista Library, 2160 Ulric Street, San Diego

Katie Pedersen (katieeslsd@gmail.com); Mondays 9:15-11:15 am (Advanced conversation); Tuesdays 9:30-11:00 am (Advanced); Wednesdays 9:15-11:15 am (Advanced conversation); Thursdays 10-11:30 am (Intermediate); Fridays 10-11:30 am (Intermediate)

Placement testing by appointment Monday or Thursday 11:30 am

 

Potrero

 

POR1. Potrero Public Library, 24883 Potrero Valley Road

Berlyne Arteaga (berlyne.arteaga@sdcounty.ca.gov); Wednesdays 10:00 am-Noon and 5:30-7:30 pm

 

Poway

 

POW1. Poway Library, 13137 Poway Road

Alex & Kathy Fousek (akfousek@gmail.com); 1-on-1 and small group tutoring during library hours

 

Ramona

 

RAM1. Ramona Branch Library, 1275 Main Street

Sonia Scanlan (s3scanlan@aol.com); 2-hour small group classes on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings

Call the Library at (760) 788-5270 to schedule a placement test

 

Rancho Bernardo

 

RB1. Rancho Bernardo Literacy Center, RB Community Presbyterian Church, 17010 Pomerado Road, San Diego

Nancy Anderson (nlanderson51@gmail.com); Mondays 9:15-11:15 am (from September to June)

A Rancho Bernardo student becomes

A U.S. citizen

 

Rancho Penasquitos

 

RP1. Penasquitos Literacy Center, Penasquitos Lutheran Church, 14484 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego

Bobbi Rastle (btrastle@cox.net); Margaret Hardy (mnh1125@gmail.com); Small group tutoring Tuesdays 9:30 am-Noon

 

San Diego

 

SD1. 4S Ranch Branch Library, 10433 Reserve Drive

Karin Lorbeck  (klorbeck@ix.netcom.com); Tuesdays 8:30 am (Intermediate/Advanced); Wednesdays 8:30 am (Intermediate); 2nd & 4th Thursdays 8:30 am (Intermediate/Advanced); Thursdays 1:30 pm (Beginning)

 

SD2. Clairemont Literacy Center, Clairemont Lutheran Church, 4271 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Nancy King (njking@san.rr.com); 1-on-1 tutoring available

 

SD3. Chollas/Mead Elementary School, 4525 Market Street

Lynn Owens (owens.lynn@gmail.com, text 619-592-1818 or call 858-566-7717); Valentina Jones-Wagner (jones.valentina@gmail.com, text or call 619-379-0890); Wednesdays October to May except school holidays: 9:15-10:45 am in the Parents Room

Mostly low to intermediate beginner classes

 

SD4. Salvation Army Kroc Community Center, 6845 University Avenue

Sylvia Nasri (snasri72@gmail.com); Vivien Isom (vivien.isom@gmail.com); Tuesdays and Fridays 9:30-11:30 am in the Education Building

 

San Marcos

 

SM1. San Marcos Branch Library, 2 Civic Center Drive

Doreen Poling (dpoling32@hotmail.com); Conversation café Wednesdays 9:30-11:15 am; Tutoring Mondays and Wednesdays 3:30 to 4:30 pm; Tuesdays 10:30-11:30 am; Thursdays 10:30-11:30 am and 6:30-8:00 pm

 

Spring Valley

 

SV1. Casa de Oro Branch Library, 9805 Campo Road #180

Wednesdays 4:00-5:30 pm; Library manager Allyson O’Brien (allyson.obrien@sdcounty.ca.gov) or 619-463-3236

                                          

Valley Center

 

VC1. Valley Center Branch Library, 29100 Cole Grade Road

Barbara Emson (hamsah@aol.com); Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00-7:45 pm

 

Vista

 

VIS1. East Vista Literacy Center, Vista Library, 700 Eucalyptus Avenue

Marti Hause (marti3543@aol.com, call or text 760-415-7576); For Spanish call or text Julio Maif: 760-643-6326

Classes Thursdays 10:00-11:30 am and some 1-on-1 tutoring