Free ESL Classes for San Diego County, CA

 

Home

Learn English

Volunteer to
Teach English

Locations

About Us

 

We offer free ESL English classes at each of these locations.

 

Be sure to contact the person named below to confirm the days and times for classes, and to find out if space is available.

Click on the street address to see the location on a map.

 

Locations for Free ESL Classes

Alpine

 

Alpine County Library

1752 Alpine Blvd.

Mary Harris: prefers text to 619-490-9386; otherwise email to ranchogirlalpine@gmail.com

1-on-1 and small group tutoring at various times

 

Bonita

 

Bonita-Sunnyside Branch Library

4375 Bonita Road

Thelma Corrales (gtleflower@hotmail.com)

Thursdays 10:00 am-Noon

 

Borrego Springs

 

Borrego Springs Literacy Center

Elaine McVey (elainemcvey1@gmail.com)

Tutoring at various locations and times

 

Carlsbad

 

Carlsbad Literacy Center

Pilgrim United Church of Christ

2020 Chestnut Avenue

Joan Grover (joangrover7121@gmail.com)

Tuesdays 7:00-9:00 pm and Thursdays 9:00-11:00 am

 

Chula Vista

 

Chula Vista Literacy Center

Community Congregational Church

276 “F” Street

Erika Dennis (ehdennis4@cox.net)

Sue MacDonald (runsusie@sbcglobal.net)

Mondays 7:00-9:00 pm

 

El Cajon

 

El Cajon Library

201 E Douglas Avenue

Charlie Barrett (cbarrett1410@yahoo.com)

Fridays at 10:00 am and 1:00 pm

Other English and citizenship classes on Saturdays

 

EMASS - Union of Pan Asian Communities

Elder Multicultural Access & Support Services

343 East Main Street

Salwa Yalda (syalda@upacsd.com)

 

Encinitas

 

San Dieguito Literacy Center

San Dieguito Methodist Church

170 Calle Magdalena

Laurie Martin (L.A.Martin@roadrunner.com)

Anne Nation (nation@lcglen.com)

Mondays 7:00-9:00 pm and Tuesdays 9:00-11:00 am

1-on-1 and small group classes for all levels

 

Fallbrook

 

Fallbrook Library

124 South Mission Road

Deborah Nickel (drnickel@roadrunner.com)

Classes Mondays and Thursdays between 10:00 am and 3:00 pm

Tuesdays 6:30-8:00 pm

Wednesdays 11:00 am-1:00 pm and 1:30-3:00 pm

 

Fallbrook Literacy Center

Christ the King Lutheran Church

1620 S. Stage Coach Lane

Pat Hensley (pmph36@gmail.com)

Mondays 7:00-8:30 pm (Sept-June)

1-on-1 tutoring available

Supervised learning with Rosetta Stone® language software available

 

La Jolla

 

La Jolla English Language Center

La Jolla Presbyterian Church

7715 Draper Avenue

Marc Angel (marclangel@aol.com)

Tuesdays 7:00-8:30 pm

 

Lemon Grove

 

Lemon Grove Branch Library

3001 School Lane

Julie Rone (julie_rone@sbcglobal.net)

Beginner: Mondays and Wednesdays 10:30 am-Noon and  4:00-5:00 pm

Low Intermediate:  Tuesdays and Wednesdays  2:00-4:00 pm

High intermediate: Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:00 am-Noon

 

Linda Vista

 

ACCESS, Inc.

2612 Daniel Avenue, San Diego

Julieta Gonzales (julieta.gon14@gmail.com)

Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00-8:00 pm

 

Bayside Literacy Center

Linda Vista Library

2160 Ulric Street, San Diego

Katie Pedersen (katieeslsd@gmail.com)

Mondays and Wednesdays 9:15-11:30 am (Intermediate Conversation)

Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30-11:30 am (Basic/Beginning)

Mondays and Thursdays 10:00 am-Noon (Low Intermediate)

Tuesdays 9:30-11:30 am (Intermediate/Advanced)

 

Potrero

 

Potrero Public Library

24883 Potrero Valley Road

Berlyne Arteaga (berlyne.arteaga@sdcounty.ca.gov)

Wednesdays 10:00 am-Noon and 5:30-7:30 pm

 

Poway

 

Poway Library

13137 Poway Road

Alex & Kathy Fousek (akfousek@gmail.com)

1-on-1 and small group tutoring during library hours

 

Ramona

 

Ramona Branch Library

1275 Main Street

Sonia Scanlan (s3scanlan@aol.com)

2-hour small group classes on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings

Call the Library at (760) 788-5270 to schedule a placement test

 

Rancho Bernardo

 

Rancho Bernardo Literacy Center

RB Community Presbyterian Church

17010 Pomerado Road, San Diego

Nancy Anderson (nlanderson51@gmail.com)

Mondays 9:15-11:15 am (from September to June)

 

Rancho Penasquitos

 

Penasquitos Literacy Center

Penasquitos Lutheran Church

14484 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego

Bobbi Rastle (btrastle@cox.net)

Margaret Hardy (mnh1125@gmail.com)
Small group tutoring Tuesdays 9:30 am-Noon

 

San Diego

 

4S Ranch Branch Library

10433 Reserve Road

Karin Lorbeck  (klorbeck@ix.netcom.com)

Tuesdays 8:30 am (Intermediate/Advanced)

Wednesdays 8:30 am (Intermediate)

2nd & 4th Thursdays 8:30 am (Intermediate/Advanced)

Thursdays 1:30 pm (Beginning)

 

Clairemont Literacy Center

Clairemont Lutheran Church

4271 Clairemont Mesa Blvd.

Nancy King (njking@san.rr.com)

1-on-1 tutoring available

 

Chollas/Mead Elementary School

4525 Market Street

Lynn Owens (owens.lynn@gmail.com), text 619-592-1818 or call home phone 858-566-7717

Valentina Jones-Wagner (jones.valentina@gmail.com), text or call 619-379-0890

Wednesdays October to May except school holidays: 9:15-10:45 am in the Parents Room

Mostly low to intermediate beginner classes

 

Salvation Army Kroc Community Center

6845 University Avenue

Sylvia Nasri (snasri72@gmail.com)

Vivien Isom (vivien.isom@gmail.com)

Tuesdays and Fridays 9:30-11:30 am in the Education Building

 

San Marcos

 

San Marcos Branch Library

2 Civic Center Drive

Doreen Poling (dpoling32@hotmail.com)

Classes are being organized; days and times are not available yet

 

Spring Valley

 

Casa de Oro Branch Library

9805 Campo Road #180

Wednesdays 4:00-5:30 pm

Library manager Allyson O’Brien (allyson.obrien@sdcounty.ca.gov) or 619-463-3236

                                          

Valley Center

 

Valley Center Branch Library

29100 Cole Grade Road

Barbara Emson (hamsah@aol.com)

 

Vista

 

East Vista Literacy Center

Vista Library

700 Eucalyptus Avenue

Marti Hause (marti3543@aol.com); call or text 760-415-7576

For Spanish call or text Julio Maif: 760-643-6326

Classes Thursdays 10:00-11:30 am and some 1-on-1 tutoring