We offer free ESL English classes at each of the locations below. Be sure to contact the Center Director named below to confirm days and times as many are subject to change based upon student demand and tutor availability.

The demographics of each tutoring center vary with the population of the surrounding community– we have learners originally from Asia, Africa, Europe, Mexico, Central and South America. Tutoring takes place in public library study rooms throughout the County, as well as city libraries,  community centers, churches and other public locations. Click on the street address to see the location on a map.

Alpine

Alpine County Library
1752 Alpine Blvd.  91901
Coordinator- Mary Harris                                                                                           ranchogirlalpine@gmail.com 
1:1 and small group tutoring at various times

Bonita

Bonita-Sunnyside Branch Library
4375 Bonita Rd.  91902       Thursday 10:00 am-Noon

Borrego Springs

Borrego Springs Literacy Center
Director- Elaine McVey  elainemcvey1@gmail.com
Tutoring at various times and locations

Carlsbad

Carlsbad Literacy Center @Pilgrim United Church of Christ
2020 Chestnut Ave.  92008                 

 T  7-9 am   TH  9-11am

Chula Vista

Laubach Literacy Center of Chula Vista @Community Congregational Church
276 “F” St.  91910
Co-Director- Erika Dennis ehdennis4@cox.net
Co-Director- Sue MacDonald runsusie@sbcglobal.net
Monday 7-9 pm

El Cajon

El Cajon Library
201 E Douglas Ave. 92020
Friday 10 am and 1 pm

EMASS – Union of Pan Asian Communities, Elder Multicultural Access & Support Services

343 East Main St. 92020
Coordinator, Salwa Yalda syalda@upacsd.com
contact for schedule

Encinitas

San Dieguito Literacy Center @San Dieguito Methodist Church
170 Calle Magdalena 92024
Co-Director- Laurie Martin    l.a.martin@roadrunner.com
Co-Director- Dolly Peponides  dolly.peponides@gmail.com                                                                       Co-Director Steve Usher  stevecu49@gmail.com                                                                                             M 7-9 pm and T 9-11 am
1:1 and small group classes for all levels

Encinitas Literacy Center@Encinitas Library
540 Cornish Dr. 92024
Co Director-Jennifer Quilkey jquilkey@me.com                                                                                          Co-Director Susan McClain swmcclain@gmail.com
All levels of ESL offered. Groups meet 1:1, small group or medium size classes.  Visit the Encinitas Library or contact Jennifer or Susan for specific times as class times change throughout the year.

Walt Wrobleski tutors his class in ESL at Encinitas Literacy Center.

Fallbrook

Fallbrook Library
124 South Mission Rd. 92028
Coordinator- Lana Smith lamariesmith@gmail.com
M & Th between 10am and 3 pm; T 6:30-8 pm; W 11-1 pm and 1:30-3 pm

Fallbrook Library tutors: Lana Smith (left), Joan Coapman, Sandy Cooper, Rusty Anderson, and Margie Mosavi

Fallbrook Laubach Literacy Center @Christ the King Lutheran Church
1620 South Stage Coach Ln. 92028
Director Pat Hensley pmph36@gmail.com
Monday 7-8:30 pm (September – June)
1:1 tutoring available; supervised learning with Rosetta Stone language software available

La Jolla

La Jolla English Language Center @La Jolla Presbyterian Church
7715 Draper Ave. 92037
Director  Marc Angel  marcangel@aol.com                                                                

Elaine Wilson  ewilson108@yahoo.com

Tuesdays 7-8:30 pm

Lemon Grove

Lemon Grove Branch Library
3001 School Ln. 91945
Director  Julie Rone julie_rone@sbcglobal.net 
M & W 10:30 am-Noon and 4-5 pm (beginning); T & W 2-4 pm (low-intermediate); T & Th 10 am-Noon (high-intermediate)

Linda Vista

ACCESS, Inc.
2612 Daniel Ave. San Diego 92111
Director  Julieta Gonzales julieta.gon14@gmail.com
T & Th 6-8 pm

Bayside Literacy Center @Linda Vista Public Library
2160 Ulric St. San Diego 92111
Director Katie Pedersen   katieeslsd@gmail.com
Classes M-F at varied times during library hours.  Classes offered for all levels including conversation. Groups meet 1:1, small group or medium size classes.  Visit the Linda Vista Library or contact Katie for specific times as classes times change throughout the year.

Satellite Center: Clairemont Literacy Center @Clairemont Lutheran Church 
4271 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. 92117
Site Coordinator-Nancy King   njking@san.rr.com   

By appointment only

National City

Lincoln Acres Library
2725 Granger Ave. 91950
Coordinator- Leslie Gonzales  leslielgzz@hotmail.com
Tuesday evenings and Thursday mornings

Potrero

Potrero Public Library
24883 Potrero Valley Rd.91963
Coordinator: Berlyne Arteaga    berlyne.arteaga@sdcounty.ca.gov
Wednesday 10 am-Noon and 5:30-7:30 pm

Poway

Poway Library
13137 Poway Rd. 92064
Co-Directors Alex and Kathy Fousek    akfousek@gmail.com
1:1 and small group tutoring during library hours. Classes by appointment.

Ramona

Ramona Branch Library
1275 Main St. 92065
Coordinator- Sonia Scanlan    s3scanlan@aol.com
2 hour small group classes M-T-W-TH mornings
Call library at (760) 788-5270 to schedule a placement test

Rancho Bernardo

Rancho Bernardo Literacy Center@RB Community Presbyterian Church
17010 Pomerado Rd. San Diego 92128
Director- Nancy Anderson   nlanderson51@gmail.com
Mondays 9:15-11:15 (September to June)

A Rancho Bernardo student become a citizen

Rancho Penasquitos

Penasquitos Literacy Center@Penasquitos Lutheran Church
14484 Penasquitos Dr. San Diego 92129
Director- Bobbi Rastle   btrastle@cox.net
Co-Director Margaret Hardy   mnh1125@gmail.com
Tuesdays 9:30 am- Noon; Small group tutoring

San Diego

4S Ranch Branch Library
10433 Reserve Dr. 92127
Head Librarian- June Zhou   june.zhou@sdcounty.ca.gov

San Diego Unified School District @Chollas/Mead Elementary School
4525 Market St. 92102
Coordinator-  Lynn Owens   owens.lynn@gmail.com 
Coordinator-  Valentina Jones-Wagner   jones.valentina@gmail.com 
Wednesdays 9:15-10:45 am Parents Room
October to May except school holidays
Mostly low to intermediate beginner classes

Salvation Army Kroc Community Center
6845 University Ave. 92115
Coordinator- Sylvia Nasri   snasri@gmail.com
T & F 9:30-11:30 am in the Education Building

San Marcos

San Marcos County Branch Library
2 Civic Center Dr. 92069
Coordinator- Doreen Poling    dpoling32@hotmail.com
Wednesday 9:30-11:15 am Conversation café; Tutoring M & W 3:30-4:30 pm; T 10:30-11:30 am; Th 10:30-11:30 am and 6:30-8:00 pm

Spring Valley

Casa de Oro Branch Library
9805 Campo Rd. # 180 91977
Coordinator  Frances Gong  blipecat@sbcglobal.net 

Valley Center

Valley Center Branch Library
29200 Cole Grade Rd. 92082
Coordinator Barbara Emson  hamsah@aol.com
T & Th 6-7:45 pm

Vista

East Vista Literacy Center @Vista Library
700 Eucalyptus Ave. 92084
Director- Marti Hause marti3543@aol.com 
Th 10-11:30 am
1:1 may be available